The Hobbit Films: What worked? What didn't?

"As for myself," said Eomer, "I have little knowledge of these deep matters; but I need it not."
Wainrider
Morning all! I know we've got a thread going about the upcoming LotR TV series coming out on Amazon, but I wanted to get this thread going about the Hobbit films as a bit of a retrospective.

What did people think worked about the Hobbit movies?
What were their most egregious sins?
What would you have changed?

Personally, I watched the first one in theaters, the second one streaming at home when it finally came out, and couldn't even bring myself to bother watching the third, and I still haven't seen it to this day. I just...couldn't get past the overwhelming use of CGI, the unnecessary plot additions, and just how much I didn't *care* about any of the characters. I mean, I loved the LotR books significantly more than The Hobbit, so that's probably part of it, but I've heard this criticism from others so it might be a more widespread opinion.

Khazad Elder
The visuals worked. The visuals of the locals especially. Like Erebor. Just breathtaking. Seeing dwarves at work and Smaug attacking.
Benedict Cumberbatch was perfection. His voice fit Smaug so well. I also really liked the Battle for Khazad-Dum. Well told in the first book and epic. Also the Gollum scenes were great in my opinion. The music was great as well. Ohh and Dain Ironfoot was the best characater in the movie.

What didn’t work? The dwarves beards and costumes. They tried to hard to make each dwarf unique and it made them a little crazy and outside the box. The overall story was too long. Azog in the movie looked ridiculous. Goblin town was very weird. The Battle of Five Armies was.....ridiculous. I mean overall they did a lot of bad things where they stepped away from what made the Hobbit Great. They over complicated everything.