Moria

"As for myself," said Eomer, "I have little knowledge of these deep matters; but I need it not."
Wainrider
Something I've noticed on my (many) rewatches of Fellowship of the Ring that never really sat right with me: As the Fellowship gets on their way after leaving Imladris, just before the Crebain from Dunland show up, Gimli brings up the option of passing through Moria rather than "going the long way 'round" and noting that his "cousin Balin would give us a royal welcome." Gandalf responds that he would not take them through the mines unless "there were no other way." Gandalf therefore knows - or at least strongly suspects - that Moria is overrun with orcs and there are no surviving dwarves in the mines. Why does he fail to mention this to Gimli or anyone else? I would think it would be germane to discuss. Even if the pass of Caradhras was unsafe to travel, the Fellowship would have done well to have more information about what dangers awaited them in Moria.
Not all who wander are lost...except that guy. He's DEFINITELY lost.- JRR Tolkien, probably

Crafts Master
I think the point, certainly in the book is that nobody knows. The last word anybody had out of Moria was from Balin's expedition after which all word dried up. Gandalf, and possibly Aragorn, have misgivings about Moria but nothing that could be the basis of such discussions. Certainly Gimli himself would very likely not have been to receptive as his desire to see Moria would have overtaken anything Gandalf would have told him, especially if it was only supposition on his part.

Master Torturer