Tolkien (2019) film

"As for myself," said Eomer, "I have little knowledge of these deep matters; but I need it not."
Wainrider
So we managed to get a Tolkien biopic from Fox Searchlight Pictures in 2019. Reviews for the movie seemed somewhat mixed, and the movie did not fare well at the box office (netting only $9 million worldwide on an estimated $20 million budget). Who all here has actually seen the film? I myself did not get a chance to see it, as I was doing fieldwork when it was released and it did not last long in theaters. Do you think it was a worthwhile Tolkien biopic despite the critical misgivings? What did you think of Nicholas Hoult as JRR? Of Lily Collins as Edith Bratt? Intrigued to see what the Plaza Community thought of the film!
Not all who wander are lost...except that guy. He's DEFINITELY lost.- JRR Tolkien, probably

Ent High Elder
It completely glossed over and downplayed his Catholicism and the influence of Catholic ideals on his works. While (as we know well from Letters) his works are not directly allegorical, his Letters also show how important his religion and universal truths were to him. The movie completely missed the mark on that aspect of him.
Fangorn Forever

Wainrider
Wow, that is pretty egregious in terms of missing out on a huge part of who he was and how it influenced his works. The previews made it seem like they pretty much just focused on his romance with Edith. Would it be accurate to say that, @Mojo?
Not all who wander are lost...except that guy. He's DEFINITELY lost.- JRR Tolkien, probably

Ent High Elder
I'd say the romance story and his war experiences were the primary focus of the film, yes.
Fangorn Forever

Councillor of Imladris