A Lord of the Rings Movie Trilogy Retrospective, Part One

"As for myself," said Eomer, "I have little knowledge of these deep matters; but I need it not."
Istari Steward
The Fellowship of the Ring came out in December 2001, approximately 18 and a half years ago. I went to see it in the theater at 13 years of age with my father, who had read me the books maybe two years before. We bought the DVDs pretty soon after they became available, and I have watched them, give or take, once every few months since then. I have watched Fellowship a bit more than the others, partially because it is my favorite and partially because sometimes I give up before making it all the way through. Still, by my very rough math, I would estimate I have seen the entire trilogy somewhere upwards of 75 times, and Fellowship maybe 100 times. The trilogy (extended) is roughly 11 hours long. That means I am likely approaching 1000 hours of my life spent solely on watching Peter Jackson's Lord of the Rings.

After watching these movies for so long, I feel like I have something to say about them. Time does not make me a master of the subject matter, and I claim neither storytelling nor filmmaking expertise. I do not know overmuch of costuming, music-making, or acting (though I know a little of all three). I am no script-writer, book-author, producer, director, or even stagehand. In sum, I am in no way a professional or a scholar on any relevant topic. I am simply an amateur with absurd levels of passion which have blinded me to any sense of objectivity.