Lettuce talk about the Upcoming Amazon LOTR TV series

"As for myself," said Eomer, "I have little knowledge of these deep matters; but I need it not."
Melkor
Melkor
So in case you haven't heard the news, Amazon is launching a LOTR TV series. It is probably going to be set in the second age, and will probably discuss Numenor, the creation of the Rings of Power, Sauron, and whatever happened to the Entwives. What are you anticipating with glee? What are you dreading with horror?

Anticipating with glee:
Celebrimbor (rings of power!)
Numenorean Sea Voyages (the character-building through conversations over months span!)
Sauron (we get to see him with a body!)
Khazad-dum!

Dreading with horror:
Celebrimbor (uhh, please don't make him like his character in those non-canonical games)
Numenorean Sea Voyages (...the character-building needs to be written well or it's going to be a blue desert)
Sauron (please cast the right person for this)
The lack of Khazad-dum (:()

Elven Enchanter
I'm somewhat apprehensive about it, but also really looking forward to getting to see stories from the Second Age on the screen. I would love to see the story of Beren and Luthien, though I think that's First Age, so who knows what kinds of stories we might be getting. There certainly is a lot of material to explore.

Also, it really bothers/annoys me when people refer to it as a LOTR series. It isn't LOTR! It's a Middle Earth series and I'm fairly certain one of the stipulations from the Tolkien Estate was that it couldn't touch anything to do with the Third Age.

Warrior of Imladris
I am optimistic. The tales from the Second Age are not nearly so fleshed out as The Hobbit and LOTR. I am hopeful this is a great opportunity for the creators to use their imaginations, while still sticking to the tales so that the books fans do not get too upset.