What character would you have added?

"As for myself," said Eomer, "I have little knowledge of these deep matters; but I need it not."
Chief Counsellor of Gondor
Another article I came across over the holiday is Viggo Mortensen answering what character he would have liked to see added to the films:

https://www.indiewire.com/2020/12/viggo ... 234606106/

Of course this one got me thinking back to if I could add 1 character from the books to the films, who would I want?

It would have been great to add maybe Glorfindel, Gildor, or Elladan and Elrohir but I understand the decision to not include them. Afterall, I think the end of the Third Age is sort of the end of the Elves in Middle-earth.

More than anything else I think Gondor got the shaft in terms of characters. Rohan you have Theoden, Eomer, Eowyn and some periphery characters like Gamling and Hama that paint the picture of what Rohan's people are like. Gondor it's just Denethor and Faramir, that's it. The rest appear to be nameless soldiers that are just fodder for orcs. I didn't get any idea of Gondor's depth or history, because they don't get any periphery characters.

So I narrowed it down to either Imrahil or Beregond. With a slight edge to Imrahil because I think it would have gone a long way (and been relatively simple) to have Pippin witness the lords and captains from Gondor's fiefdoms bringing in their armies. Nice scene from the books that I don't think would have been too difficult to add.
A Loquacious Loreman.
he/him
Tis the season of Sean Bean prequel shows

New Soul
Awesome answer from Viggo there! :thumbs: It's such a small thing, but it would have really been something to see. If I were adding a character I think it would be Beregond because of his interactions with Pippin. And because he stood up to Denethor's madness. I would have loved to see that scene in RotK.