The 1996 LOTR Tarot Deck: Review and Discussion

"As for myself," said Eomer, "I have little knowledge of these deep matters; but I need it not."
High Lord of Imladris
So in 1996 a tarot deck was approved by the Tolkien Estate and was developed by Terry Donaldson and the artwork was done by Peter Pracownik.

It did have a game associated with it as well that was created by Mike Fitzgerald.

This... Deck was published by U.S. Game systems Inc from the US and as a general rule that I've found between Readers and Tolkien fans in general is considered an absolute hot mess.

It was the first Tarot deck I ever owned and when I was young and i honestly bought it before I'd even finished reading the Two Towers as I was already utterly enamored with LOTR and wanted everything LOTR. Now I own it and apparently it's fairly ridiculously rare (I paid 15 dollars Canadian and I'm only finding it for 100 to 175 dollars) Now honestly I have half a thought to create my own LOTR based Tarot as some of the cards just don't work or are problematic in terms of just what is depicted.

So I figure what I'm going to do is review the cards in the licensed deck and discuss what is wrong with them and perhaps what could have been done better while comparing them to what is generally considered the standard in Tarot deck the Rider Waite deck.

The Ace of Cups
Now this is generally a card about emotional fulfillment as well as using your intuition and following your inner voice and remaining true to it. And that while this can be difficult generally you'll be full of joy.

Now you can see that the LOTR decks focus is not the cup, nor is the scene really about emotional fulfillment. It does involve intuition but more in questioning your intuition instead of trusting it. After all we see the vision in the mirror does come to pass. As well there really isn't joy at least for me associated with this scene in LOTR.