Lail's Nature Snapshots

Original writings and artwork by Tolkien fans.
Ent Ancient
I like to take photos of things in nature while I go out for walks and hikes and adventure. I mostly take photographs of birds, but also other critters, trees and plants, too!

I got started with bird photos in 2014 and when my extreme-zoom point and shoot died last year, I decided to go for my first DSLR. I'm still quite new to world of "real" photography and my favorite way to learn is by experimenting. But if you are a more experienced photographer and have any pointers for me, I am open to your suggestions but I don't promise to remember them when I'm out in the field.

Here is my little corner space to share some photos with you all.

I'll start with this one. It was taken recently and I shared it on the discord, but I liked it so much I thought I would open my thread with it.

Last edited by Lail on Thu Sep 17, 2020 3:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

Black Númenórean
Oooh @Lailorn this is gorgeous! Is this near where you live? If so, I'm mighty jealous!

I'm by no means a pro with DSLRs (there are others on here who are, though!) but I've used a few over the years. The biggest tip I have from my own beginner's perspective is learning the basics of aperture, shutter speed, and ISO (if you haven't already!), then messing around with those settings on your camera when you're out shooting photos. You'll find you get a wide variety of results with different settings for each of those in the same situation. Or if you like using the different preset modes on your camera, focusing in on composition is a good one, too!
she/her | Esta tierra no es mía, soy de la nocheósfera.

Healer of Imladris
These days I can't seem to look at a photo without thinking "could that work for an Ages or Arda banner??" :lol: Which is to say, @Lailorn, this is a lovely photo and I wonder if I might borrow it for a banner sometime (with credit of course!)?