Resounding Footsteps - A Look into Musical Analysis

"As for myself," said Eomer, "I have little knowledge of these deep matters; but I need it not."
Balrog

Many ages ago (okay more like 4 years) I was a music reviewer. I reviewed all sorts of black metal, dark ambient, and dungeon synth and even afforded myself a tiny smidgen of popularity. I was good at what I did. I didn't just say "this music was bad" these riffs were heavy and killer" I went deeper and analyzed the music, the sounds, the environment, and the atmosphere. I went deeper than most reviewers were willing to go. If you thought some of my RP posts could be long, you have no idea how long my reviews could get. I stopped when the scenes I was a part in got too divided and I was getting pulled in each direction and in part because I couldn't keep enduring all the awful music people would randomly send me.

Recently though, thanks to my own musings over things past and a conversation with @Zôrzimril, I've decided to revive the old name and logo and write my musical analysis here. Now I know a lot of you, okay most of you, aren't going to enjoy must of what I write about because black metal, dark ambient, and dungeon synth are very acquired tastes. Still, I hope you'll stick around and read about the music because I'll have the freedom to write about the music that I feel passionate about instead of fulfilling an agreement between myself and the band. If you stick around, I promise you will learn things and you might even find a band or a musical project that you love.

I will make this note here and now though, black metal has a lot of anti-Christian, Satanic themes and I am not going to shy away from those bands or projects for the sake of anyone here. I believe all these bands have something to offer, a story to tell, a perspective to share. I know a lot of people will not like that so as a compromise, I will be putting content warning labels on the reviews/analysis that deal with these bands.