The Rings Of Power Episode 8: Alloyed [SPOILERS]

"As for myself," said Eomer, "I have little knowledge of these deep matters; but I need it not."
Master Torturer

Season One Finale. New alliances are forged.
Loremistress Emerita | she/her

Master Torturer
I said numerous times before ROP aired—hell, even before we knew it would be called ROP—that I thought the show could be good on its own merits, regardless of how much it changed from the books. Despite, or rather because of, my lingering purist tendencies, I tried to go out of my way to focus on things I enjoyed, to avoid solely being a grumpy purist about the show. The start of the mithril subplot in Episode 5 killed my motivation to be charitable and for the past few weeks I've complained about a lot of changes. Going into the season finale, though, I wanted to be more fair-minded again, so I decided to try to emulate some of my friends who said they enjoyed the show more after looking it as an Alternate Universe (AU) version of Middle-earth. Looking back over the season from this perspective makes me less grumpy about some alterations, but it doesn't make me like the show better. If anything, I'm disappointed they didn't change more.

To try to explain, let me quote something I said back in February, in response to numerous descriptions of the show as fanfiction: