my media adaptation

"As for myself," said Eomer, "I have little knowledge of these deep matters; but I need it not."
Guardian of the Golden Wood
A Hobbit's Guide to Stairs has just moved house, into here, a corner where i have very rarely ventured. so i thought i should put my cards on the table.

basically, i am old. i lived for five years whilst Tolkien was still alive and i had my youthful Middle-earth obsession long before the days of the internet and the movies. don't get me wrong - i was awed by the first 3 movies, watched them endlessly, and was delighted how many unexpected people around me suddenly revealed their private passion for the books. all this got me back into books that i had not picked up for a decade.

but The Hobbit trilogy ended things for me. i have not watched even a trailor for the Amazon series. i watched the biopic and it was like The Hobbit movies - a director ignorant of the text! so this did start me wondering what the abomination of an adatpation of the original story of Bilbo Baggins meant for the 3 great LotR movies. then i read Christopher Tolkien back in 2012, and i was at first taken aback and found it hard to take seriously. but what he says was like a worm that wriggled into my brain, until now all i can say is that Christopher Tolkien was absolutely right!

@Eldy Dunami has got me with her take on the big money visual adaptations as just instances of fan-fiction. but they are not the same as fan-fiction in this respect: there are thousands of fan-fiction stories and only a handful of movie adaptations, and this is because the cost of writing a story and making a blockbuster are way different.