I'm officially a PhD student working on a thesis on Tolkien!

"As for myself," said Eomer, "I have little knowledge of these deep matters; but I need it not."
Newborn of Lothlorien
I'm officially a PhD student working on a thesis on Tolkien!

I will be working under the supervision of Professor Thomas Honegger at the Friedrich Schiller University in Jena.

My proposed thesis is titled "Giant’s Daughter, Fairy Mistress, Reverse Orpheus: Folktale Types and Motifs in Sir Gawain and the Green Knight and the Tale of Beren and Lúthien".

It's so great that I can announce this result of years of research and I am glad I can share the news with you! :grin:

New Soul
Eph: I see, thank you for posting the differences and congrats still. :thumbs: I am moving over my questions to this thread as it is more appropriate place. Do you have a research plan in plan how to prove that the tale of Beowulf is a merger between these two genres? And how the unknown poet did it? Do you feel you are able to figure it out, there are not many resources of so long ago?
Just call me Aiks or Aikári. Notify is off.
Find me stuff in Gondolin.
And let us embark to Valinor!

Newborn of Lothlorien
Aiks: As you can guess from the title, my thesis is rather on Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, that was stated by scholars long ago to be a merger between a Giant's Daughter type and a Fairy Mistress type. My thesis is that Tolkien read the scholars arguing this (as we know from his writing) and was inspired to merge the Giant's Daughter and the Fairy Mistress in his own way in the tale of Beren and Luthien. I will cite that Beowulf also merges two types of tales just as a comparison.

Éowyn
Éowyn
That is actually really cool! I'd be interested in reading that!
Arnyn ~ Honor & Valor
Kaylin ~ Joy & Strength

Newborn of Lothlorien
Thanks, @Arnyn! :smile:

Istari Sage