A Hobbit's Guide to Stairs

"As for myself," said Eomer, "I have little knowledge of these deep matters; but I need it not."
Guardian of the Golden Wood

A Hobbit’s Guide to Stairs is a weekly serial for those who would themselves navigate a flight of stairs, in their dreams or out of them.

It began with an escape from immortality, when Lúthien enchanted her hair and spun an Elvish staircase to descend from the top of a tree. From Lúthien descend the line of ancient sea-kings of the island in the West, who built tall towers. But they tried to take what was only permitted them to see, and Sauron the Necromancer made the Ring, which is not a tower but a bridge…

●◌◊□
No going upstairs for the hobbit… (The Hobbit, p.1)
These posts are taken from a modern adaptation of the Fourth-Age Hobbit Guide to Stairs, composed in Undertowers. The original Guide was designed to make a tower. Each post was a 'step' and by two or three turns, a series of steps took the reader from the ground to the first floor, from the first floor to the second, and up to the high chamber on the seventh floor - whereupon they could turn round, look down, and see the point of stairs.

This thread gives the Ground Floor (introductory matter) and staircase to the First Floor. Unfortunately, having dropped the photocopies on the floor back around May, some are posted below in the wrong order! Readers who wish to read in (more or less) correct order, or to read about the ancient Bag-end tragedy that compelled composition of the original Guide, are directed to my blog.

Plaza credits
Drifa: (1) front cover, (ii) back cover, (iii) on burrowing the barrow
Silky Gooseness: (i) ladders, (ii) Lúthien
Narv: hosting
Last edited by Chrysophylax Dives on Sat Sep 09, 2023 5:46 am, edited 13 times in total.
Eat earth. Dig deep. Drink water.

Wednesday 1: Some Hobbits Have Stairs
Hobbits do not like heights, and do not sleep upstairs, even when they have any stairs. (LotR II, vi)